My 2016 Skin Care Routine

Following my latest post about skin care, now I will explain to you my latest skin care routine that I’ve been doing religiously for… 4-5 months, I guess. If you asked me, how I found the right one for me, I think you should find what your skin needs, what your own skin problems, and find products that do not hurt or stings your skin! 

To review my latest post, after a long time experiment, I found that:

  1. I over-exfoliated my skin.
  2. I’m allergic to tea tree oil
  3. My face was super dehydrated

So, I tried to find a highly moisturising products, and I immediately turns to Japanese products. Why Japanese? I don’t know, but I found that Japanese products seems more delicate for your skin, and not as harsh as western products. And I’ve read somewhere that ‘If you are Asian, try to stick to Asian skin care, because they usually more suitable for Asian skin’s needs’; which I found quite true. I also found that Japanese method of cleansing face is so make sense. You should never hurt your face! 

After experimenting with several products, I found that these products makes improvement to my skin, my horrible, horrible broke out was lessen little by little, my face doesn’t feel as tight as before, my skin feel well moisturised, and I could see that my acne scar started to fading out.

AM

1. Hada Labo Gokyujun Foaming Face Wash

sc-4

Remember what I told you about Japanese Cleansing Method? I found that the fastest way to do Japanese cleansing with the right amount of product is to use self foaming face wash. From my perspective, it’s not easy to forming loads of foam with bare hands. You need at least foaming net which I found quite hassle to use everyday.

I used Hada Labo Gokyujun Regular Face Wash before, but I found my face suit this one the best. I don’t know if the ingredients differs or not, but I guess I’m not expert enough to make the perfect foam for my face, lol.

 

2. SK-II Facial Treatment Clear Lotion

sc-9

After tried two little tiny teeny bottles of samples, I literally sighed when I realized that I have to use this products in order to lessen my breakout. It’s so bloody expensive for a toner. At first, I thought that toner exist to only balanced out your skin after cleansing and/or to remove your excess dirt, so I tried quite a lot of toner from other brands; local, Korean, western, even the ones-that-claims-to-make-your-skin-looks-like-porcelain-dolls-that-BURNED-my-skin that only available in US and Europe, but sadly, I have to admit that I desperately need this product for my routine.

If most of people swear by SK-II Facial Treatment Essence, I’d rather choose this one, because I actually see improvement of my skin from this Japanese high-end brand’s toner.     I nearly cried every time I have to repurchase this guy because I literally soaked up the cotton pads every time I use any toner, hence why I need to find cheaper replacements. 😥

 

3. SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

sc-3

Actually, I don’t find SK-II’s FTE makes improvement for my skin alone; but I have this mindset that the clear lotion will work the best if combined by FTE, and vice versa. I treated this products as serum, even though it should work as pre-serum. This is also expensive, yes, but I’m just glad that I don’t have to use it as much as the Clear Lotion :’). The limited edition bottles are always so pretty, that you want to collect them all!

 

4. Hada Labo Gokyujun Ultimate Moisturizing Light Lotion

sc-5

I forgot to mention earlier that ever since I realized how dehydrated my skin was, I immediately turned to Hada Labo Gokyujun line, therefore you will find a lot of their products in my routine. This line claimed to be ultimately moisturise your skin with two types of hyaluronic acid, which is the main ingredients on almost any moisturising products.

I use this products whenever I need a moisturizer that isn’t really rich; or sometimes for pre-moisturizer and/or second toner before I put the milk moisturizer when my skin feels super dry. I love how this product will plump your face without the greasy feeling.

 

5. Hada Labo Gokyujun Ultimate Moisturizing Milk

sc-8

As I said before, I usually use the Hada Labo Gokyujun Ultimate Moisturizing Milk whenever my skin feels on the dry side. Even though this products tends to be a little bit greasy, but I always wear a primer that quite mattifying before make up, so it’s not a problem for me.

 

6. Wardah Sun Care Sunscreen Gel SPF 30 PA+++

I’m proud of myself every time I could find a good cheap products, lol. This product is pretty light weight for a sunscreen, and didn’t feel as greasy as usual sunscreen. This sunscreen don’t provide higher SPF, though; but I think it’s okay for everyday use for anyone that don’t really need to be under the sun all day. I love it so much that I already repurchase it several times! ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

PM

1. Hada Labo Gokyujun Foaming Face Wash

2. SK-II Facial Treatment Clear Lotion

3. SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

4. Hiruscar Post Acne Gel

sc-10

I was definitely sold when an online shop owner that I’m following in Instagram recommend this product based on her personal review. It claims to be quickly lighten acne scar, even the old, deepened one. And as a person who always be the victim of acne scars (seriously, even a scar could stays on my face for a year! :‘(), I immediately bought it.

I could see it works, even though it’s not that fast, but fast enough for me. The scar on my face already disappeared, and only remain the dark spots, which also already lightened thanks to Hiruscar! The downside of this product is that it’s pretty pricey for its teeny size and hard to find in my country.

 

5. Innisfree ECO Science Eye Cream

sc-2

Honestly, I already accept the fact that my eye area is highly pigmented, and my dark under eye maybe wasn’t caused of lack of sleep and unhealthy lifestyle. So, I basically wear eye cream to prevent wrinkles on my eye area, especially since I used to rubbed my eyes a lot in the past :'(. I bought this product because I’ve read a lot of good reviews of it, but I actually didn’t find it any better than another eye creams that I’ve used before, and sadly I couldn’t use it at the day time because the texture is so thick that could ruined under eye make up easily.

 

6. Mask Sheets

sc-11

I adore Korean mask sheets a lot, since they are cheap, have well designed packaging, and work well for my skin, especially whenever my skin feels super dry. SK-II sheet mask is also good yeah, but they are so pricey to be used on daily basis. I often heard that if you put on sheet mask before make up, the make up will glide on easily, but I just didn’t have enough time in the morning.

 

7. Hada Labo Gokyujun Ultimate Moisturizing Night Cream

sc-7

The texture of this night cream is like the thick version of its moisturizing milk. It works well on my skin though, but my brother always asked me in after I woke up why my face looked so oily, lol. I never find it bothers me, though, since it’s a night cream, and I would never wear make up over it.

 

8. Etude House AC Clinic Intense Pink Powder Spot

My absolute holy grail product!!!! I stupidly forgot to take picture of it :'(. To simply put, this product is like the knock-off of Mario Badescu Drying Lotion. I’ve never tried the Mario Badescu one, though, because I’m happy enough with this product’s result 🙂 :-). Etude House AC Clinic Intense Pink Powder Spot worked to quickly reduce your acne size into nothing. Be careful to quickly put the cap after use, though, since mine was dried up quickly because I forgot to close it as soon as possible :'(.

 

Yeah, so, this is my routine for the past few months, even though my skin is far from perfect, but at least it shows improvement a little at a time. I know that it’s not perfect yet,  I didn’t even put cleansing oil while the Japanese way of cleansing tends to emphasize on double cleansing (I didn’t find the right cleansing oil yet, sadly). And there’s a probability that my skin’s condition will change depends on the weather, lifestyle, etc that might change my entire routine.

I’m not skin care expert nor dermatologist, but here’s my tips on finding the right skin care based on my experience :

  1. Know what your skin needs. If your face often feels tight, it means your skin dehydrated, but there’s also a chance that if your face produce more oil than usual, your skin is also dehydrated. The world of skin care is wider than you think; so don’t forget to research, research, and research before you buying products. Googled it, see the reviews from beauty forums, etc. Never buy product blindly just simply because it get raved.
  2. Expensive products does not equal to good products. Even if they are good products, it might not work the same for you. And there’s a chance that cheap products also works really well. It’s my whole reason why I used so many Hada Labo products. They are considerably cheap, they are work really well on my skin, and they are easy to find. I honestly didn’t want to try another SK-II products beside the FTE and Clear Lotion simply because I don’t want my skin to be dependable on their products, and made my skin immune to cheaper products.
  3. Reflect on your lifestyle. Drink a lot of water, eat fruit and vegetables, work out, sleep enough, put a lot of attention on what to put in your body, and stay away from stress. (seems meh for a tips but, well, it does affect your skin condition). Your bad habit could also affect your skin; stay your hand away from your face! The bacteria from your hands could transform into acne on your face.
  4. Be patient and don’t expect instant result. Usually a product took two weeks to one month to see if it really works or not. But, I know how frustrating it is to wait, especially when you couldn’t differentiate if it just a purging phase, or the product simply didn’t work out for you. But, if you constantly changing products at a same time, it could worsen your skin condition. So, took your time, breath, relax, and be patient.

 

11 thoughts on “My 2016 Skin Care Routine

  1. Pardon my OOT because I understand nothing about skin care, but my oh my did you take the image by yourself or by searching on Shutterstock?!
    Goodness gracious, bagus banget!! Ini pake 7D nih? Bisikin kamera dan lensa-nya dong 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

