[REVIEW] Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner

This is probably the longest time I need to review a product, yeah you would probably guess it already if you read my blog for a while — it’s Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner.

IMG_0040

The essence of fermented rice hydrates skin. Extracted essence from fermented Yeoju rice with red yeast strengthens natural moisturizing barrier of skin and cares root cause of dry skin.Viscous formula improves skin’s elasticity and density.

IMG_0038

The reason why it took me a while to review this product because, first; it’s a skin care product, of course you can’t justify anything from first impression. Moreover, I found that a lot of skin care products grown on me over the time; probably because I have such a sensitive skin that my skin needs to have their own moment before they decided that “okay this products works!”. 

Second, this is my first Hanyul product. I usually found that if I tried a product from the same brand that I’ve tried before, my skin get used to it faster rather than a product from a new brand. For example: Hada Labo. Third, this hydrating toner consist of two ingredients that I always have mixed feelings with: Alcohol and fragrance.

Oh God seriously, the fragrance. Fragrance is probably the ingredients that I despise the most, especially artificial fragrance. This Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner had that strong floral fragrance, that, for me, it’s rather annoying. A lot of people find that the fragrance is refreshing, but I’m totally against it. I’d rather that this toner has the same scent with Hanyul Optimizing Serumthat smells wonderful, just like a pine tree! — or no scent at all. Sometimes in skin care, unscented products seems more likeable for a lot of people, right?

As for the alcohol, I’m not totally against it, especially considering that a lot of Japanese toner and sunscreen that I use consist of alcohol, although I do notice that sometimes  my skin get used to product that contained alcohol longer than alcohol-free product. However, the scent of the alcohol of this product is quite strong, and mixed with such unpleasant fragrance? Ah, big no no for me.

IMG_0044

This hydrating toner has thick texture, unlike Japanese toner that usually would be watery. It adsorbs to skin quite fast, thanks to alcohol, of course. However, I do find that this Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner works better if I paired it with Hanyul Optimizing Serum. I feel like, if I didn’t pair it with the Optimizing Serum, this toner didn’t do anything for me. But, if I used it after the Optimizing Serum, this hydrating toner did make my skin to be more plump and softer.

Another thing that makes me quite confused with this product, I feel like this product didn’t make my skin to be hydrates to its core, I feel like this Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner didn’t actually help with dehydration or like Koreans like to say it, inner dryness; I think it only work on the outer layer of my skin. For that reason, and the fact that it contains alcohol and fragrance, I do think that it’s not the best product for 7 skin method.

IMG_0041

For those reason above, I think I wouldn’t repurchase this Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner, maybe I will try another hydrating toner from Hanyul, but not this one. Because for me, it’s just a so-so product with a strong fragrance and alcohol, moreover I don’t find that it actually work without the Hanyul Optimizing Serum, which is quite a hassle for me, honestly.

I don’t find the packaging to be annoying, though, in fact, I love Hanyul’s packaging and branding, the glass packaging makes the product to be more classy and expensive, which is something that you would expect if you buy a high end product.

Maybe my point of view will surprise a lot of people because majority of people who already tried this product love this Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner. How about you? Have you try this toner before? What do you think? Do share your thoughts bellow! 🙂

One thought on “[REVIEW] Hanyul Rice Essential Skin Softner

Leave a Reply

