[REVIEW] It’s Skin Power 10 Formula VC Effector

It took me a while to review this particular product when in fact I’ve started using it right after I posted my first It’s Skin Power 10 Review. Well, it’s just that there’s a long gap when I’m not into It’s Skin Power 10 and just simply curious to try a bunch of new products that I bought. That, and the fact that my first impression of this supposedly best selling serum from the line is a little bit “meh”.

IMG_0938

A lightweight, brightening essence that just happens to be It’s Skin’s bestseller amongst all Power 10 Formula variants

Lightens freckles and other blemishes; evens out skin and refines your complexion; formulated with vitamin C and green tea extracts; preps skin thoroughly to receive the next step of your skincare routine; dermatologist-tested and gentle on sensitive skin; free from alcohol and colorants

Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Polyglutamic Acid, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Carbomer, Methylparaben, Triethanol amine, Acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Chlorphenesin, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA

IMG_0952

Here’s the thing: the first time I bought this It’s Skin Power 10 Formula VC Effector, I don’t have any idea about how complicated is Vitamin C ingredients in skin care. If you follow a lot of beauty gurus that going really deep into each ingredients’ benefits and facts, you might already know that Vitamin C is a really unstable ingredients that would easily get oxidized, ideally stored in a air tight or dark bottles so the formulation would not get get exposed to the sunlight, and it will be better for you to not combine Vitamin C serum with exfoliant ingredients such as AHA and BHA.

Therefore, when I checked out my It’s Skin Power 10 Formula VC Effector again after three months break, I was like “Is this serum legit???? Why it comes with clear bottles and not oxidized after four months???” and I research more about their ingredient list afterwards (here’s why you really need to find out more about your skin care’s ingredient list before you buy it!), and I found out that the Vitamin C ingredients that they use in this serum, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitateis one of the newest Vitamin C form. And this is the very same ingredients that the most hyped skin care brand at the moment, The Ordinary, use for their Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate Solution 20% in Vitamin F.

 

IMG_0934

 

According to Truth In Aging it works as a powerful antioxidant and whitening agent, with both anti-acne and anti-aging capabilities. It’s a potent, oil soluble form of Vitamin C Ester. Like other forms of Vitamin C, it helps prevent cellular aging by inhibiting the cross-linking of collagen, oxidation of proteins, and lipid peroxidation. It also works synergistically with the antioxidant Vitamin E, and has demonstrated superior percutaneous absorption and stability. Many studies have confirmed the skin lightening, photo-protective, and hydrating effects it can have on the skin. It can be found in various skin care products such as anti-aging serums, eye treatments, skin lightening gels and lotions/creams.

Unlike L-Ascorbic acid, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate will not exfoliate or irritate the skin. It is well tolerated by even the most sensitive skin types. Also unlike regular Vitamin C , it can be used in high doses, and for up to eighteen months without oxidizing.

IMG_0943

Uh-huh. From the explanation above, it makes sense as to why this serum didn’t oxidize after 4 months and didn’t irritate my skin even the slightest. This serum has a very lightweight consistency, easily adsorb to the skin, and has a refreshing citrusy scent. However, though, I didn’t feel like it does help to lighten my overall skin and hyper pigmentation. The only benefits that I got from this skin is probably the hydration. Whitening effects? I don’t think so.

But, if you see the —again— ingredients list, you will notice that the actual Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate ingredients is only at the sixth most used ingredients. After a bunch of moisturizing and anti ageing agent such as peptide and glycerin. So, I think my impression that this serum is more on the hydrating side instead of the whitening side is not just in my imagination. I’m not complaining though, since this serum is pretty cheap, I got it on sale for around $8. So, you what you pay is what you get.

IMG_0939

Nevertheless, although it seems like I have conflicting views on this particular It’s Skin Power 10 Formula VC Effector, I think this is a nice introductory serum for skin care newbie or everyone who prefer cheap skin care. It feels nice, help to hydrate my skin and all, but I can’t see the brightening effect during the time that I’ve been using it. If you already expert on skin care ingredients, whitening agent, and so on, I think you would probably disappointed with this product because I think it won’t do much if you’re going to compare it to another famous Vitamin C in the market.

For me personally, after I dig in into these scientific facts, there are three Vitamin C products that I really really want to try after I finish up this product; Novexpert Booster A la Vitamine C, Menard Fairlucent Whiter Essence, and Drunk Elephant C-Firma™ Day Serum.

 

One thought on “[REVIEW] It’s Skin Power 10 Formula VC Effector

Leave a Reply

