[S.O.S] Skin Care That Will Help If You Have Scratches in Your Face

IMG_1007

I rarely have wounds or scratches in my face, well, acne scar is a whole different story, what I want to focus here is those small wounds or scratches that sometimes happened to our skin because of mishaps or maybe if you have pets and accidentally get scratches or something.

So, a few weeks ago I bought a new eyebrow razor because mine was running out, and it turned out that the one that I’ve always bought is not in stock, so I decided to buy a new best selling one, with a new interesting shape that I’ve never encountered before. Well, spoiler alert: It’s horrible. Like. Seriously horrible. It’s hard to work with, and I ended up scratches both of my eyebrows area. Ugh!

I quickly synthetic it with alcohol and cotton pads, and let the wound dry first.

IMG_0988

And during my PM routine, I just know that I could rely on Propolis and Honey to treat my irritated skin. Why Propolis and Honey, you may ask?

Did you know that honey isn’t the only thing that bees make? Bees also produce a compound called propolis from the sap on needle-leaved trees or evergreens. When they combine the sap with their own discharges and beeswax, they create a sticky, greenish-brown product used as a coating to build their hives. This is propolis.

Thousands of years ago, ancient civilizations used propolis for its medicinal properties. Greeks used it to treat abscesses. Assyrians put it on wounds and tumors to fight infection and help the healing process. Egyptians used it to embalm mummies.

Researchers have identified more than 300 compounds in propolis. The majority of these compounds are forms of polyphenols. Polyphenols are antioxidants that fight disease and damage in the body. (Source: Healthline)

IMG_0989

And from AdvancedTissue.com:

Numerous scientific studies have been conducted to observe the wound healing properties honey can possess. Researchers from the University of Auckland, New Zealand, have discovered how honey was able to effectively reduce the healing times of burn wounds. Using data from 19 clinical trials dealing with 2,554 patients with untreated wounds, the doctors were able to prove that honey helped the wounds heal quicker than normal gauze and film dressings that commonly used to treat burns.

Another study published in the International Journal of Lower Extremity Wounds involved researchers discovering a wide variety of treatment qualities found in honey that are almost unparalleled to other forms of treatment. After conducting 22 trials involving 2,062 patients who were subjected with honey as a wound dressing, the following properties were found:

  • Infections were not only cleared, but wounds were protected from spreading bacteria
  • Honey was able to control and eliminate strong odors from wounds
  • Permanent scarring was dramatically reduced
  • Honey promoted anti-inflammatory activity

IMG_0991

I applied It’s Skin Power 10 Formula Propolis and Banila Co. Miss Flower and Mr. Honey Cream as a final step in my PM Routine for three consecutive days and Thank God it works! If my cleansing step until hydrating toner step stings the wounds, both of these wonderful products did help to calm the wounds, and by the next two days the scratches were finally healed! Yay!

I have a reminder for you, if you happened to have open wounds on your face, I would suggest you to avoid products that contain alcohol, fragrance, AHAs and BHAs. Well, I’ve read that in some cases AHAs and BHAs would help acne scars healed faster, but as I’ve said before, I sort of think that wounds and acne scars is different. I’ve never read any further about that matter, though, but if you have any inputs about it, please do tell me in the comment section bellow! 🙂 But, for me personally, I tend to avoid products that could lead my skin into further irritation and stings.

IMG_0990

So, those are my favorite products when I my skin having wounds and scratches! I believe that snail products could help too, since they shares similar healing properties, however as I’ve never try a lot of snail products, I couldn’t recommended any specific products yet, hopefully I could update it in the future about this matter.

I believe that any skin care products that contains Propolis and Honey could help with your wounds, but please, if you decided to put raw honey or some DIY medicine/skin care, I think you have to be expert at this, because if something wrong happened, it could lead into further irritation. Nevertheless, I definitely suggested you to buy product over the counter instead of DIY products. 

Hope this help!

 

xoxo,

Amanda.

 

Leave a Reply

