[REVIEW] COSRX Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence

IMG_1177

My friends been gushing about this particular COSRX Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence and raves that this is definitely better than SK-II First Treatment Essence. I was skeptical, as always, lol. Besides, at that time I was already head over heels with the almighty Hanyul Optimizing SerumBut now that the serum is already come to an end 😥 (cries!), I was looking for another replacement for First Treatment, and since it was harder to repurchase the Hanyul one, I decided to try this COSRX First Essence. 

IMG_1179

From Soko Glam:

Everything you love about fermented skin care has been concentrated into this powerful brightening essence (don’t worry, it’s not actually ‘whitening’). With Galactomyces as the star ingredient, this fermented yeast is in lots of your favorite fermented skin products (especially for fans of Missha’s Time Revolution First Treatment Essence or SKII’s Facial Treatment Essence), but now it’s pumped up to an impressive 95% concentration.

This essence works to nourish and revitalize your skin cells so they turn over fully repaired, giving you clear glowing and hydrated skin with improved elasticity and plumped out fine lines. Those dealing with acne or acne scars will find that this essence helps heal broken-out skin as well as fade brown marks. If you have dry, rough, or uneven patches, your skin’s texture will be smoothed over with hydrating and repairing ingredients.

It also helps those concerned with anti-aging issues like loss of elasticity and fine lines or wrinkles. Basically it helps your skin snap back like a rubber band to its brightest and most revitalized appearance and texture.

Recommended for all skin types.

Ingredients: Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Niacinamide, Sodium Hyaluronate, Betaine, Panthenol, Glycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Allantoin, Butylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Ethyl Hexanediol, Adenosine

IMG_1181

I am no longer stranger with COSRX, so it’s safe to say that I’m not that hesitant or reluctant to put this one on my skin. But the big question is: Will it be on par with my favorite Hanyul Optimizing Serum? Because I have to admit that I am not interested to compare this one or any first serum on that matter with SK-II FTE, because after a year or so using it (and after a few bottles worth $$$$), the famous FTE is simply didn’t do anything to my skin.

My first impression of this COSRX Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence is that the texture is way too slippery too my liking. It’s definitely on the thicker side, pretty similar with Hanyul one, not that watery texture like SK-II’s or Missha’s. And I feel like it takes a while to let it absorb to my skin. However, other than that I found that it’s a decent dupe to Hanyul Optimizing Serum.

IMG_1186

But I have to mention that even though I said that this is a decent dupe to Hanyul Optimizing Serum, it’s not necessarily mean that this has all the benefits like Hanyul and give similar effects to the skin. No, it’s not. I don’t find that instant plump effect that I found in Hanyul with this one. However, I do feel that this First Essence works pretty similar to make another layer of skin care afterwards to works better to my skin. Most importantly: It didn’t break me out.

I appreciate the colorless and unscented formula, moreover when this serum don’t include alcohol in the ingredients. I assume that this serum will work for sensitive and acne prone skin (like mine!) 🙂

IMG_1182

So, overall, I think if you want to try Hanyul Optimizing Serum but didn’t want to jump the gun because of its high price tag or it’s hard for you to find the Hanyul one, this is a good start for you, especially when it comes at one third the price of the Hanyul Optimizing Serum.

This first serum is pretty decent for its affordable price (around $18~$20), with sensitive-skin friendly ingredients (no alcohol and fragrance, yay!). However, I personally think that if you want a more heavy duty first essence that will give you more benefits to the skin, I think Hanyul Optimizing Serum is a better choice.

Lol, pardon me if I keep comparing COSRX and Hanyul, well, since I didn’t have many experience in the First Essence, I can’t help comparing to the one that actually works for my skin. I looking forward to try SU:M37 Secret Programming Essence and Lancôme Advanced Génifique Youth Activating Serum, though, so stay tune! 🙂

Do you have any first essence recommendation? Please write down in the comment section bellow! Thank you! 🙂

3 thoughts on “[REVIEW] COSRX Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence

    1. Thank you for reading and stopping by! 🙂 I’ve been trying their Snail Essence samples but still has mixed feelings about it, but maybe I need try the full bottle first to see if it’s going to do anything to my skin in the long term. Thank you for your recommendation ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

