[REVIEW] Pixi Glow Tonic

I think it was back in 2015, when Caroline Hirons claimed that this exfoliating toner is the dupe to the OG Biologique Recherche P50, everyone bought this product and always said that this is basically the best exfoliating product ever and instantly make their skin glowing. Since it’s relatively more cheaper than Biologique Recherche and the famous Sunday Riley Good Genes, of course everyone eager to try this product. However, is it that good for me?

DSCF9034

It comes with huge transparent plastic bottle with Pixi’s signature green colours, and the texture of the exfoliating toner is very watery and smells very acidic (some people said that P50 smells even worse, lol). Since it’s already my fifth years in skin care experiment, honestly I prefer their natural-chemical scent (lol why it seems contradictive?) than perfumey scent. It doesn’t bother me at all.

If you’re used to the exfoliating product, I think more or less your skin will expect that this toner is pretty strong with its 5% Glycolic Acid. Stings on the skin within the first application are to be expected. Therefore, if you’re new with exfoliating toner, I would suggest you to prepare your skin with ‘weak’ exfoliating toner first, like say, COSRX Pimple Pad or other Korean exfoliating products because as far as I know, Korean only let maximum 0.5% strength of exfoliating products.

DSCF9035

Honestly speaking, at least by now, I already realized that each skin reacted differently towards specific ingredients –some might work wonderfully on your skin, some might works just okay, and some will broke your skin out. Well, your miles might vary, indeed. And I realized that BHA and AHA might be not working as well as Mandelic Acid for my skin, therefore even though this pretty strong exfoliating toner stings my skin at the first weeks, I didn’t notice significant result even after a couple of months.

Maybe it’s not fair if I’m comparing it to tiny mandelic acid serum that cost pretty much the same with this huge bottle of Pixi Glow Tonic or maybe the famous Drunk Elephant C-Firma in terms of removing dark spots; but I think it’s just a matter of preferences—and my skin seems to react better to mandelic acid, retinol, and vitamin c. My biggest tips if you’re using this product (or any exfoliating toner on that matter), please use a lot of hydrating toners and/or serum afterward because this toner tends to be drying.

DSCF9036

Therefore, it’s positive that I won’t repurchase this product. Nevertheless, seeing that a lot of people seems took a lot of liking towards this product, and they have a huge cult following, I will still suggest you to try this product because, well, it just works ‘okay’ with me, but works wonderfully with everyone. Maybe you will be lucky as well?

Have you tried this product before? What do you think? Please share your thoughts in the comment section below! 😉

DSCF9033

3 thoughts on “[REVIEW] Pixi Glow Tonic

  1. I’m sorry, but Glycolic Acid is AHA, not BHA.

    And yes, i’m agree with you, this product is kind drying in my skin as well.

    Like

    1. Hi, thank you for the correction! Idk why I always remember that Pixi Glow Tonic is a BHA toner, therefore I assume Glycolic Acid = BHA, my bad! 😦

      Like

  2. So I finally succumbed to the hype and bought a mini bottLe of this because I’m having another Worse Breakout Of The Year episode.. I haven’t use it though, afraid this and Mario Badescu Drying Lotion wiLL be too much for my skin.

    Like

Leave a comment